ECS Sherwood Forest Earns “Super School” Award

DECEMBER 2016:  Einstein Charter School Sherwood Forest’s ESL (English as a Second Language) program earned “Super School” honors from Imagine Learning Thursday. Imagine Learning is an innovative language and literacy software program for ELLs (English Language Learners), struggling readers, early childhood education, and Special Education students.

“I am proud of Einstein Charter School Sherwood Forest for receiving recognition for embracing Einstein’s belief of equity in education, for all populations,” said CEO Shawn Toranto.

Einstein Charter School Sherwood Forest is the only school in the state of Louisiana to earn this honor. Sherwood Forest is also the #1 School in the region based on usage of the program.

The Imagine Learning English program helps to close the proficiency achievement gap that used to take years for a student to achieve.  By using the program in schools the students are successful in a shorter amount of time. Imagine Learning awarded this honor based on ESL program teachers’ promotion of the program in their school and innovative techniques being used with students. It is also based on student usage.

“This award is not about me,” said ESL teacher LaQuita Garnett. “This is about the students and Einstein’s commitment to success for the ELL population.”

Ashley Wright, Area Partnership Manager for Imagine Learning, was on hand to present the plaque to Mrs. Garnett and some of her students. After the presentation Mrs. Garnett asked Ms. Wright was the next step up was from “Super School” status.

“We now have a goal to work towards,” said Garnett. “Imagine Learning is a program that helps our students succeed and they deserve the recognition, we are ready to move up to the top 10% in the nation!”

ecssf-super-school-awardEinstein Charter School Sherwood Forest ESL Program teachers Mrs. LaQuita Garnett, Ms. Tuan-An Neang and Charlotte Steber, Einstein’s Director of Special Populations pictured with 1st grade ELL students (from L to R) with Fikreab Asfaw, Jhonder Roblero, Chelsi Meza, Ngan Bui, Marco Juarez, Evelin Cruz, and Chris Leon.